• Meet the Board

    Holmes County Consolidated School District is a place where all of our energies are dedicated to helping students become their best selves. We purposefully create an environment to meet their needs from early childhood to emerging adolescence. We are pioneers in providing a leading-edge academic experience, and we are fundamentally committed to helping all of our students become people of strong character and academic excellence.


    Rev. Anthony Anderson
    District A


    Holmes County Consolidated School Board of Trustees president, Anthony Anderson, is determined to ensure that every child has equal access to a high-quality education. Before serving as the first president of the HCCSD Board, Mr. Anderson served as the secretary on the former HCSD Board. Mr. Anderson earned a B.S. in Agriculture Economics and completed coursework for a Master’s degree in International Agriculture Economics from Alcorn State University. He taught Agri-Science and Computer Engineering in the Holmes County School District. Mr. Anderson is currently the assistant pastor at Rockport Missionary Baptist Church.



    Louise Winters
    District B


    Louise Lewis Winters began her education at the then-segregated Durant High School.  As a young child, she experienced first-hand very harsh treatment and discrimination. Due to her family’s willpower to fight for the civil rights of African Americans, she, along with a few other brave families, became one of the first to integrate Durant High School. Though faced with years of hardship, she never lost faith. During her later school years, she excelled in basketball and received many outstanding achievement awards and recognitions.  In 1978, she completed all requirements for College Preparatory courses with an 89.9 GPA and marched proudly as a member of the graduating class of the “desegregated” Durant Municipal Separate School District, home of the Mighty Durant Tigers.

    As a product of a family that believes in fairness, morals and respect, she became an advocate of the Freedom Democratic Party (FDP), where she protested through nonviolent measures in Lexington, Durant, and other towns for the equal rights of African Americans. She became a member of Excel by 5—an innovative early childhood community certification process that emphasizes the importance of roles played by parents and early childhood educators in the lives of children from birth to 5 years.

    After being selected to the school board at Durant Public School in 1991, she completed the first of numerous school board training programs from the Mississippi School Boards Association (MSBA) through the Mississippi Department of Education (MDE) and national training in Chicago, Illinois. During her 26 years, she was a faithful, fair, and active member who served in the capacity of president, vice president, and secretary.  She remained on the board until early 2017.  In October of the same year, she was elected to the Holmes County Consolidated School Board and voted in as Vice President where she will continue to be the voice of the children, employees, and members of the community.



    Elder William Dean, Jr.
    District D


    Superintendent William Dean, Jr. was born in Canton, Mississippi. He received a B.S. Degree in biology at Mississippi Valley State University, a Master’s degree in Biology at Southern University in Baton Rouge, Louisiana, a Specialist Degree in Science at the University of Southern Mississippi in Hattiesburg and a degree in Administration at Mississippi State University. He also studied at Jackson State University and Florida State University.

    Elder Dean served in the field of education for a total of 34 years. He served as the First Black Elected Superintendent of Education for Holmes County School District for 20 years.

    Over a period of 48 years, he has served and been a pioneer in the Northern Mississippi Jurisdiction of the Church of God in Christ in several capacities. He presently serves as Assistant to his Bishop T. T. Scott, District Superintendent of the Lexington District and as Chairman of the Ordination Board.

    His pastoring of 48 years includes: seven years at Sallis Church of God in Christ, twenty years at St. Peter Church Of God In Christ in Shaw, MS and presently 27 years at St. Paul (the Mother Church of the Churches Of God In Christ all over the world) in Lexington, MS.

    Superintendent Dean was married for 52 years to Dr. Margie McGowan Dean before her death.

    They have 4 children, Elder William Kenneth, an engineer with the EPA in Jackson, MS, Minister Keith Dean, owner of Dean Memorial Funeral Home in Brandon, MS, Dr. Kimberly Dorsey, a professor at the University for Women in Columbus, MS and April, who went to be with the Lord in October 2011.

    They have 7 grandchildren: Elijah, Elisha, Emmanuel, Destiny, Terrell, Aaron and Christian.

    Of all of Superintendent Dean’s accomplishments, he loves best what God called him to do and that is, he loves “preaching God’s preaching.”



    Rayford Horton
    District E


    Mr. Rayford E. Horton, Sr. was born the eleventh (11th) child of twelve to the late Lee Porter and Pauline Fort Horton and grew up in the Ebenezer community where he attended the Holmes County Public Schools. He earned a B.A. Degree in Political Science with a minor in Criminal Justice from Mississippi Valley State University. Mr. Horton worked in numerous public service capacities with Community Culture and Resource Center, the Mississippi House of Representatives, Delta Correctional Facility of Greenwood, Holmes County Department of Human Services, and the Holmes-Humphreys Regional Correctional Facility. He is currently employed as the Director of Institutional Services for Mississippi State Department of Health, overseeing the health and sanitation compliance of home day care centers, prisons, jails and correctional facilities, the compliance of school construction and designs with the Americans with Disabilities Act, state-wide environmental lead and radon assessments, and as a safety recall investigator for the United States Consumer Product Safety Commission.